10 May Adult Learning – Mental Skills – Online Course

Understanding the principles of adult learning is essential for ensuring successful training. The classification of educational learning objectives as it is described in Bloom’s Taxonomy is not just for school teachers. The three domains of the taxonomy – cognitive, affective and psychomotor – apply to adult education as well.

In this course, we will pay attention to the cognitive domain. This is the domain of knowledge and intellect, and it is the main focus of most educators.

This course touches on the history and definition of Bloom’s taxonomy, the cognitive domain and the categories into which it is broken down, the changes introduced by the updated version of Bloom’s taxonomy, the different types of knowledge and the training in the cognitive domain.


At the end of this course you will be able to:

  • Understand Bloom’s Taxonomy
  • Explain the cognitive domain
  • Explore the updated cognitive domain
  • Compare the cognitive domain in Bloom’s Taxonomy with its updated version
  • Recognize the different types of knowledge
  • Plan and implement training in the cognitive domain


This course is designed for:

  • Teachers, educators and trainers working with adults
  • Training Managers
  • Instructional designers


Basic knowledge of adult learning principles.


5 hours


This course comes with 12 modules consisting of videos, text, case studies and quizzes.

It is a self-paced program available 24/7. Participants can learn at their own pace, anytime, anywhere and on any device.


A participation certificate will be issued on completion of the course.

Take this Course

Course Content